Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman John Ratcliffe

Representing the 4th District of Texas

Rep. Ratcliffe announces 2018 Rising Lone Star winners

June 5, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Texas) announced today the 2018 Rising Lone Star winners from high schools across Texas’ 4th District.

“Today’s students are tomorrow’s leaders, and the Rising Lone Star program gives us the opportunity to showcase young folks who’ve distinguished themselves on the fast track to success. I look forward to seeing what they’ll accomplish as thoughtful, engaged members of the Northeast Texas community in the years to come,” Ratcliffe said. 

Ratcliffe launched the Rising Lone Star award program to recognize students who exhibit outstanding leadership or service in their schools and communities. The recipients are nominated for the Rising Lone Star by their principals, administrators or counselors.

The 2018 recipients are as follows:

Recipients Brett McGee and Daisy Portillo from Pittsburg High School


Recipients Emily Maxwell and Jenna Reid from Queen City High School


Recipients Treston Taylor and Cyrpress Wright from Hughes Springs High School


Recipient Bryson Shubert from Avinger High School


Recipient Hannah Molandes from Avinger High School


Recipients Kelcie Kennon and Seth McCarley from Blue Ridge High School


Recipients Caleigh Oglesby and Jordan Paul Anderson from Cooper High School


Recipients Alexandria Nicole Passanisi and Randolph Clayton Arris from Bonham High School


Recipient Samuel Pepe from Sherman High School


Recipient Lauryn Nicole Wise from Pottsboro High School


Recipient Connor Jackson from Howe High School


Recipients Emily Guajardo and Tyler Kelley from Sulphur Bluff High School


Recipient Levi Rogers from Commerce High School


Recipients Taylor Degelia and Levi Smith from Lone Oak High School


Recipient Hannah O’Leary from Caddo Mills High School


Recipients Zykia Rose and George Cherry from Clarksville High School


Recipient Molly Kate Evans from Rockwall High School


Recipient Audrey Courreges from Mount Pleasant High School


Recipients Brandy Nicole Swink and Joe Sanders Hendrix from Redwater High School


Recipients Emily Jennings and Gage Jones from Maud High School


Recipient Madison Whisenhunt from Hooks High School


Recipients Madison Whisenhunt and Phillip Moore from Hooks High School


Recipients Morgan Clawson and Dylan Throckmorton from Ore City High School


Recipients Donavan Alexander Whatley and Halle Makayla Pope from New Diana High School


Recipients Jackson Bland and Murphy Williams from Gladewater High School